Wessex FM News

Contact the News Team:
Tel: 01305 250333

Dorset Tourism Award Winners Announced

Tank

4:35pm 25th October 2013

The winners of the Dorset Tourism Awards have been announced.

39 prizes were handed out at the Bovington Tank Museum last night.

Highlands End Holiday Park in Bridport won double Gold for sustainable tourism and was named Holiday Park Of The Year.

West Dorset Leisure Holidays also shone out as a double Gold winner - with Managing Director Martin Cox receiving an award for Outstanding Contribution to Tourism.

The awards attracted 60 entries in 12 different categories, each undergoing a rigorous 3-stage judging process comprising initial scoring, visits by a team of mystery shoppers and final assessment by an independent judging panel.  Chair of the panel, Professor Peter Jones said: "I was delighted to act as Chair of the Judging for the Dorset Tourism Awards and very impressed with the quality of the submissions. We have excellent tourism businesses in Dorset and to be involved in recognising them in this way has been a privilege and a pleasure."

"Dorset can often be overlooked as a premier tourist destination, but the quality of our tourism businesses is testament to the excellence of which we should be proud. This is reflected in the submissions for the Dorset Tourism Awards and all entrants should be complimented on how well they contribute to what Dorset has to offer."


The full list of winners is as follows:
THE 2013 WINNERS
 
BED & BREAKFAST AND GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Goadsby www.goadsby.com
GOLD
-       Launceston Farm B&B, Blandford Forum  www.launcestonfarm.co.uk  
SILVER
-      The Inn at Cranborne, Cranborne  www.theinnatcranborne.co.uk
BRONZE
-      The White House, Charmouth www.whitehousehotel.com  
 
TOURISM INFORMATION SERVICE
Sponsored by Anytime Booking www.anytimebooking.co.uk

JOINT GOLD
-       Lyme Regis Tourist Information Centre, Lyme Regis  www.visit-dorset.com
-       Poole Welcome Centre, Poole  www.pooletourism.com
BRONZE
-      Discover Purbeck Information Centre, Wareham www.visit-dorset.com
 
HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by NatWest  www.natwest.com
GOLD
-       Highlands End Holiday Park, Bridport  www.highlandsendholidaypark.co.uk
SILVER
-       South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Lytchett Minster  www.southlytchettmanor.co.uk
BRONZE
-      Rockley Park, Hamworthy  www.rockleypark.co.uk
 
BEST TOURISM ACTIVITY, SPORT & EXPERIENCE
Sponsored by Take One Media www.takeonemedia.co.uk
GOLD
-       National Trust Brownsea Island, Poole  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brownsea
SILVER
-       Lyme Bay RIB Charter, Bridport  www.lymebayribcharter.co.uk
BRONZE
-       Furleigh Estate,  Bridport  www.furleighestate.co.uk
 
SPECIAL ENTREPRENEUR AWARD
Sponsored by Saffery Champness www.saffery.com
-       Beach Weddings Bournemouth,  www.beachweddingsbournemouth.co.uk
 
TOURISM EVENT OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Bournemouth University - School of Tourism www.bournemouth.ac.uk/tourism
GOLD
-       Dorset Seafood Festival, Weymouth  www.dorsetseafood.co.uk
SILVER
-       Rallye Sunseeker 2012 and 2013, Poole  www.rallyesunseeker.org
BRONZE
-       The British Beach Polo Championships, Poole  www.sandpolo.com
COMMENDED
-      Sherborne Abbey Festival, Sherborne www.sherborneabbey.org
 
HOTEL OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Clockwork Hospitality www.clockworkhospitality.co.uk
GOLD
-        BridgeHouse Hotel, Beaminster  www.bridge-house.co.uk
SILVER
-      Eastbury Hotel, Sherborne  www.theeastburyhotel.co.uk
BRONZE
-       Hotel Miramar, Bournemouth www.miramar-bournemouth.com
 
SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD
Sponsored by A Head for PR www.aheadforpr.co.uk
GOLD
-       Highlands End Holiday Park, Bridport www.highlandsendholidaypark.co.uk
SILVER
-       Captains Club Hotel, Christchurch  www.captainsclubhotel.com
 
SELF CATERING ESTABLISHMENT OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Pavey Group - www.paveygroup.co.uk
GOLD
-      Greenwood Grange, Dorchester  www.greenwoodgrange.co.uk
SILVER
-      Dove House and Swallows, Dorchester www.dovehousedorset.co.uk
COMMENDED SELF CATERING AGENCY
-     Dream Cottages, Weymouth  www.dream-cottages.co.uk
 
OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE AWARD
Sponsored by Source for Business - www.sourceforbusiness.co.uk
GOLD
-        Geof Curtis of National Trust Brownsea Island, Poole  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brownsea
 
EATING OUT AWARD
Sponsored by Darren Northeast PR www.darrennortheast.co.uk
GOLD
-       Eastbury Hotel, Sherborne  www.theeastburyhotel.co.uk
JOINT SILVER
-       Arbor Restaurant at The Green House Hotel, Bournemouth  www.arbor-restaurant.co.uk
-      Highcliff Grill at the Marriott, Bournemouth  www.highcliffgrill.co.uk
BRONZE
-       Beaminster Brasserie, Beaminster  www.beaminsterbrasserie.co.uk
 
VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Resort South West  www.resortsouthwest.com
GOLD
-       National Trust - Kingston Lacy, Wimborne Minster www.nationaltrust.org.uk/kingstonlacy
SILVER
-       The Tank Museum, Bovington  www.tankmuseum.org
JOINT BRONZE
-      Farmer Palmers  , Organford  www.farmerpalmers.co.uk
-        Sandworld, Weymouth www.sandworld.co.uk
 
TOURISM PUB OF THE YEAR
Sponsored by Horsey Lightly Fynn - www.hlf-law.co.uk
GOLD
-      The Inn at Cranborne, Cranborne  www.theinnatcranborne.co.uk
JOINT BRONZE
-        Lulworth Cove Inn, West Lulworth www.lulworth-coveinn.co.uk
-       The Old Granary, Wareham  www.theoldgranarywareham.co.uk
 
OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO TOURISM
Sponsored by Services for Tourism  www.services4tourism.co.uk
-       Martin Cox, Managing Director of West Dorset Leisure Holidays www.wdlh.co.uk
 
WINNER OF WINNERS
Sponsored by the Dorset LEP www.dorsetlep.co.uk
-   Eastbury Hotel, Sherborne  www.theeastburyhotel.co.uk

Sign up for the latest local news direct to your inbox


Share This Story

Submit this page to redditDelicious
brewery square clock

brewery square clock

The Wessex Word

See the latest wrong guesses and win cash!

The Bun Run

Request the cakes for your workplace!

Book Your Table

For sales in January and March

Free Fuel Friday

Find out how to get your car sticker

Dorset Webcams

Take a look around our beautiful county

Book our Disco

Have DJ Owen at your party or celebration!

Meeting Room Hire

Come to Wessex FM for your meeting or conference

Close

We Use Cookies

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer.

By using this website you accept the use of cookies as explained in the terms of our cookie policy.