Weymouth College Tropics Still Without Win

Weymouth College Tropics Still Without Win

Published at 10:01am 21st January 2014.

Weymouth College Tropics 20 – 31 Salisbury Weymouth College Tropics 33 – 39 Dorset Storm B

In their second set of games, Weymouth College Tropics U16 hoped to use their 2 months training to effect as they hoped for a double win, and back into title contention.

In their first game, the young Tropics squared off against Salisbury. From the opening tip it looked as though neither team were going to get the upper hand as they went back and forth, forcing Weymouth call a time out and regroup. With a few well placed substitutions and a change in tact, Weymouth fired back as they levelled the lead. As the game entered the second half Weymouth gained a slim lead led by guards Max Gilmartin and Jerry Thompson, both pushing the ball and finding open team mates. With only a minute remaining, Tropics found themselves 5 point down and with a chance to win, who unfortunately did not find the mark, resulting in a 20 – 31 loss.

In their second game, they faced Dorset Storm B. With a lack of experience, Weymouth was unable to match their rivals as they were unable to connect on multiple layup opportunities. As the game continued, Weymouth were able to rotate their entire team allowing all to have a good amount of game time and finding solid play from Joe Southcott and Matt Williams-Davey. Storm continued their pressure as Weymouth were unable to close out and allowed Storm to finish the game 39 – 33 ahead.

Coach Alex Fuhrmann, “I was really at a loss this evening. The lads have had 2 months of great training, learning to work as a unit and playing as a team. I honestly can’t believe we came out with such a lack of fire; missing open layups and seemingly forgetting our team plan. They are a great bunch of lads, there is a long way to go yet and if we decide that we want to win, then the league title is still ours to take.”

Roster: Taine Mackay, Max Gilmartin, Jerry Thompson, Kim De Leon, Joe Stickley, Ewan Goodwin, Tim Hendy, Joe Southcott, Matt Williams-Davey.