Weymouth College Tropics Still Feeling Winter Cold

Weymouth College Tropics Still Feeling Winter Cold

Published at 12:26pm 27th January 2014.

Weymouth College Tropics 18 – 26 Salisbury Spires Weymouth College Tropics 17 – 30 Dorset Storm B

In there 3rd round of games in the Solent Junior Local League, Weymouth College Tropics U16 were set on gaining their first win of the season. Coach Alex Fuhrmann attempted to find additional success by promoting Josh Turner to head coach for the game, hoping to motivate his young side with a younger leader.

In the first game on the evening, Weymouth faced off against Salisbury who has been a tough opponent since the start of the season as they both are via to knock off league winners Dorset Storm. It started as an evenly matched game as both teams exchanged baskets, Weymouth’s young squad and kept the score line low. As the game edged into the 4th quarter, things took a lower tone as Salisbury took a commanding 6 point lead and were unwilling to let Weymouth get to the basket. Tropics did attempt some last minutes pick and roll offences, although it was clearly too late as the game finished 26 – 18 to Spires.

In the second game Weymouth came out firing as Max Gilmartin linked up with Jerry Thompson to take a 6 point lead over Dorset Storm and looked to have improved from their previous game against Salisbury. It was defence from Taine Mackay and Tim Hendy that then kept Weymouth competitive as Storm were only able to come back in the second half. Weymouth seemed to face fate again as Storm jumped their play and despite 3 blocks from Mackay, locked up Weymouth and cruised to a 30 – 17 win.

Coach Josh Turner, “I was really excited about getting the opportunity to step up and head coach the team this evening. I was hoping I’d find back to back wins, but due to our lack of fire we really didn’t show our true form. Myself and Coach Fuhrmann are really trying to instil the success to match the teams potential, but until the lads want to do it, we’ll just keep trying.”

Roster: Dion Benson, Kim De Leon, Max Gilmartin, Ewan Goodwin, Tim Hendy, Rory Legg, Taine Mackey, Joe Southcott, Joe Stickley, Luke Strong, Jerry Thompson.