Local Information

Useful Info

Extra Rubbish and Recycling

Do you have lots of rubbish you need to get rid of this Christmas? Dorset Council will be collecting up to two extra sacks of rubbish beside your bin on your first rubbish collection after Boxing Day. DCC  will also collect extra recycling that won't fit in your bin if placed in your own boxes, glass will need to be kept separate. 

You can take any extra rubbish to household recycling centres which are open from 10am to 4pm daily, excluding Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Recycling your real Christmas tree

If you have a real Christmas tree that you no longer need there are various options for what to do once you've finished with it and removed all its decorations:

  • If you have a garden waste collection, you can dismantle/cut up your tree into small pieces to fit in your garden waste bin. 
  • Real Christmas trees can be taken to local household recycling centers for composting completely free of charge.
  • You can also book a Christmas tree collection with a Dorset-based charity. Weldmar Hospicecare will be running  Christmas Tree collections in Weymouth on 6th January and in Dorchester on 7th January 2018. You can register for a collection here - this will need to be done before the 3rd January.

Transport Over Christmas

First Bus

First will be operating a Special Christmas timetable from Sunday 24 December 2017 until Tuesday 2 January 2018.

Christmas Eve
Sunday 24 December 2017
Sunday levels of services on routes 1, 2 and 10
only with an early finish around 18:00.
Christmas Day
Monday 25 December 2017
No service.
Boxing Day
Tuesday 26 December 2017
Daytime special services on routes 1, 2 and 10
only.
Wednesday 27 December 2017 Saturday levels of service on most routes
Thursday 28 December 2017 Saturday levels of service on most routes
Friday 29 December 2017 Saturday levels of service on most routes
Saturday 30 December 2017 Saturday levels of service on most routes
(plus overnight service on route 1).
New Years Eve
Sunday 31 December 2017
Special Sunday services on routes 1, 2, 3/8, 4/4A
and 10
New Years Day
Monday 1 January 2018
No Service
Tuesday 2 January 2018 Normal service on all routes.


Trains

Over Christmas and New Year bank holiday period (23 December 2017 to 2 January 2018) there will be a considerable amount of improvement and engineering work on the Britain's rail network. You can expect to see delays, early finishing times and changes in the lead up to Christmas with no trains on Christmas day or Boxing day.

For full details for South Western train services click here

For more info on Great Western train services click here.

Sandbanks Ferry

There will be a normal service that will run over Christmas and New Year with the exception of Christmas Day. On Christmas Day a reduced half-hourly service will run between 8am and 6.10pm.

Pharmacy Opening Times

Over the Christmas period there will be changes to Dorset Pharmacy's opening and closing times. For a full list of opening hours please click here

Changes to Bin Collection

Usual collection day Revised collection day
Friday 22 December No change
Monday 25 December Wednesday 27 December
Tuesday 26 December Thursday 28 December
Wednesday 27 December Friday 29 December
Thursday 28 December Saturday 30 December
Friday 29 December Tuesday 2 January
Monday 1 January Wednesday 3 January
Tuesday 2 January Thursday 4 January
Wednesday 3 January Friday 5 January
Thursday 4 January Saturday 6 January
Friday 5 January Monday 8 January
Monday 8 January Tuesday 9 January
Tuesday 9 January Wednesday 10 January
Wednesday 10 January Thursday 11 January
Thursday 11 January Friday 12 January
Friday 12 January Saturday 13 January
Monday 15 January No change